Gold Coast Australia Places to see in Australia

States and Territories in Australia

States and Territories in Australia confuse many first-time travelers, and it’s completely understandable because the states and territories of Australia are completely different from other countries.

When you talk about Australian states, you are not just referring to Queensland or Victoria. There are six states: Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia, Victoria, Western Australia, New South Wales, two main Territories, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

Australian Capital Territory

Here you will find Canberra, the capital of Australia. It is small and travels only 88 kilometers from south to north. It consists mainly of mountains and hills, as well as rugged plains. More than 35% of the land area is part of the Namadgi National Park. It is close to Canberra; it is home to the School of Music, the Parliament Building, and the National War Memorial.


Queensland is one of the Australian states many love; it’s often referred to as a vacation state because the atmosphere is generally laid-back. This is also a popular vacation destination for millions of people around the world. Queensland is home to the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast, famous for its surfing beaches and the islands of Fraser, Moreton, Magnetic, and Fitzroy. Some of the most popular cities are Cairns and Brisbane. The Great Barrier Reef is also here.


This is just the island nation of Australia. Although around 500,000 people inhabit Tasmania, it is generally a desert. It is very rich in flora and fauna, including the famous Tasmanian devils, wallabies, and wombats. Tourists visit Hobart frequently. There are many national parks like Southwest; Tasmania also has great plans and glacial lakes. It’s indeed one of the Australian states anyone would love to live for its serenity.

South Australia

South Australia is among the great Australian states, and it’s a vibrant and attractive state with a unique range of affordable and exclusive accommodation. With plenty of great lodging options and interesting tours, you can enjoy the eclectic mix of historic and modern sites around the business district.


This is perhaps the smallest of all the landlocked Australian states, but there are also many national parks and beautiful scenery. It’s no wonder that many people spend most of their time outdoors. There are several picnic areas and trails for walking and hiking. The liveliest city in Victoria is Melbourne. It is also the cultural center of the state.

Western Australia

Although this is the largest state among the Australian states, it has a very small population, no more than 3 million. If you are looking for privacy, visit cities in this region, for example, Perth. Much of it is made up of sandy beaches, but swimming isn’t the only thing you can do here. You can travel north to the Kimberley and see the remains of Aboriginal settlements.

New South Wales

New South Wales is the most populous state among the Australian states. The most famous city is Sydney, where the Harbor Bridge and the Sydney Opera House are located. New South Wales is also made up of Byron Bay, famous for its sunrises, snow-capped mountains, and its refuges and ski areas. Most of the best water activities, including dolphin watching and feeding, take place in Nelson Bay. It is less than 3 hours from Sydney’s main business district.

Northern Territory

As it is primarily desert, only a percentage of the total Australian population settles here. Even so, the number increases as tourists venture into the wild and catch the incredible rock formation of Uluru or follow the remote trails of Kakadu National Park. The Northern Territory is also interesting for its red soil.

One of the first things to understand when planning a tour or studying in Australian states and capitals is that the country may be a little different from yours.

The main difference is between the powers of the Australian states’ government and territories, and this division was made to aid in administration. The Australian states were already separate before creating the Australian federal government, so these states have their own state governments while the territories are under the federal government’s control.